Spontaneity

This summer is overwhelming. Last year I complained that nothing good was happening and this year I’m a bit stressed out with the amount of shows actually coming to and around Montreal. That being said I’ve decided I’m not missing out on any of them. You only live once so live it up.

First weekend of June was a roadtrip to Quebec City to see the Hedley guys. Probably one of the most epically amazing days of my life. When everything falls into place so smoothly then you know it’s going to turn things around. It was like 2005-2006  all over again. Something I didn’t think would be possible. It was an opportunity to escape with one of my closest friends and just be girls again. We danced in our hotel rooms. We laughed on the big screens. We giggled in parking lots. I loved every second of it. I don’t regret one second of the last 7 years when it comes to those 4 guys. They’ve changed my life in ways they don’t even know. Here’s to more days like that this summer.

Lately Jason has been trying to convince me to go on a spontaneous roadtrip with him. I always found excuses not to. Not because I didn’t want to be with him but because I felt like work, responsibilities and money would get in my way. On Thursday I attended a funeral. It was my first one in almost 10 years and hopefully my last one for at least another 10. It made me realized that this is the only life I’m going to get. I spend so much of it rationalizing everything and worrying about every detail. I need to get out of that mind set and just be me. So I told Jason to pick a place and we’d go. Fuck my credit card. I’ll figure that out as I go along. He booked NYC for one night and we hopped in a car less than 30 hours later and drove to a city that I’ve always wanted to experience. Even the border guard gave us a funny look when we said we were only going for one day. 12 hours of sitting in a car for about 24 hours of fun.

The drive was quick. We survived getting into the city and even managed to not be honked. We hopped on a bus tour, with the craziest tour guide ever, and got to learn about part of one of the most historical cities in the world. This place just oozes history and stories. The architecture was beautiful as well. It’s nice to see a city trying to preserve their buildings rather then just tearing them down and building new ones in that spot. We wandered Times Square and ate dinner at Olive Garden. We bumped into one of my favorite people on this planet, Josh Groban and I became 10 years old all over again. The next day we took a boat tour around the entire island of Manhattan and paid a visit to Lady Liberty. Smaller then I expected up close. Then we shopped, well I did, like idiots until it was time to leave. Somehow I did a 4 story Forever 21 and only left with two necklaces and a dress. Talent. The drive back was beautiful and everything about the trip just made me happy. I got to disappear for 48 hours with the love of my life. I got to do something so spontaneous that even I couldn’t wrap my head around where I was when I was standing in Times Square. Everyone needs to do this. Just get in your car and go. Book a last second vacation. Nothing feels better then the unexpected things in life.

This coming weekend is a trip to Belleville with a car full of people I love. Then I’m hopping over to Toronto for 3 days with friends to get a glimpse of the MMVA’s and just pay a visit to one of my favorite cities. I need this. I need to just escape from my thoughts for a few months. In August I’ll sit down and try to figure out parts of my life but right now I just need to be a kid again and smile at the little things.

“This next song goes out to all the beautiful girls in the room. I just want to remind you that beauty is so much more than what you see in the mirror, and don’t you ever let anybody else tell you different.” – Jacob Hoggard

Leave a Reply

